MIAMI, Florida – September 4, 2013 – (HISPANICIZE WIRE) – The Miami Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA Miami), will honor Bruce S. Rubin, founder of rbb Public Relations, with the 2013 Bill Adams PRSA Lifetime Achievement Award and will recognize Alberto M. Carvalho, superintendent of Miami-Dade County Public Schools with the 2013 Royal Palm Award. They will also award scholarships to six promising public relations students from area institutions.

26th Annual Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Endowment Fund Luncheon


Friday, October 4th


11:30 a.m. – Registration and Silent Auction
12:15 p.m. – Luncheon and Awards Presentation


Treetop Ballroom – Jungle Island, 1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami


$50 for members, $30 for students, $65 for guests, $500 per table of 8 (Proceeds benefit the Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Chapter Endowment Fund)


Register and pay online at the Ev Clay Endowment event page or search upcoming events on

The PRSA Miami Bill Adams Lifetime Achievement Award, named after a nationally admired educator and public relations professional Bill Adams, recognizes exceptional leadership and contributions to the public relations profession and the community. This year’s recipient, Bruce S. Rubin, known as a crisis and strategy maven is a public relations counselor who’s 30+-year public relations career encompasses extensive corporate communications, media and community relations experience. Rubin profile:

The PRSA Miami Royal Palm Award is presented to a member of the community who embodies and demonstrates key values of the public relations profession and who has made a significant contribution to Miami-Dade County. The recipient maintains a high standard of ethics and social responsibility along with positively affecting attitudes, beliefs and behavior for the common good. This year’s recipient is Alberto M. Carvalho, superintendent of Miami-Dade County Public Schools (M-DCPS), the nation’s fourth largest school system. Carvalho profile:

Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Endowment Fund
The Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Endowment Fund is the largest scholarship fund in the nation operated by a PRSA chapter, providing financial resources to students with a public relations interest. Since its establishment in 1985, it has awarded more than $151,000 to 110 deserving students.

The 2013 scholarship recipients will be honored during the October 4 luncheon:

Florida International University

— Teneil Lawrence
— Juliana Gallo

Florida Memorial University

— Sherelle Stephens
— Miami Dade College
— Tania Soto

University of Miami

— Monica Zgurova
— Morgan Chicchelly

With more than 200 members, the PRSA Miami chapter ( and @PRSAMiami) has grown to become the preeminent public relations organization in Miami-Dade County and has always enjoyed an outstanding reputation in the PRSA world for the strength of its chapter management and the quality of its programs. PRSA Miami offers members the opportunity to learn, network, develop leadership skills, and advance professionally in an atmosphere of good comradeship.